Any recommendations for (free) Windows video editing software?

Okay, I’ve got a bleg (blog beg) for the gang.

I’ve got a video I want to upload and share with everyone here at the blog. The quality is not so great, but it’s interesting enough I think people will enjoy it.

I’d like to do some really simple editing first. Basically, I want to add a title slide or two at the front and then include only the first 90 seconds (or so) of what is now a 210 second AVI file. Like I said, it’s really simple editing, right?

I tried a couple of free programs I found at download.com, but haven’t found anything that handles this task well. Instead of banging my head against the wall again and again, I’m turning to y’all. Any recommendations?

4 Responses

  1. No advice for Windows software, but do you have any friends with a Mac and iMovie? 🙂 It ROCKS! If I lived closer to DC, I’d let you use mine…

  2. If you have Windows XP or Vista, both OS have Windows Movie Maker already installed. Movie Maker isn’t as good as apple editing products, but agin, free and comes with the OS:)

  3. I used Windows Movie Maker to make a 2 minute project and another 15 minute project.
    Well, the stupid Windows Movie Maker kept crashing, so I’d have to redo my project from where I last saved. if you’re going this route SAVE OFTEN!

    I used Avid Free Dv for a bigger project and it was heaven in comparison (they recently discontinued this , kindof a bummer)

    right now, to edit most of my stuff I use the sequencer in Blender3d. But I mostly know it back n’ forth, so… I would recommend it only if you’re interested in learning more about it. Blender is not as easy to learn as iMovie and contains way more than just the basic editor – its like using a flamethrower to light a candle.
    http://blender.org

    There’s also VirtualDubMod (good program)
    for basic editing

    I don’t mind Blender or VirtualDubMod. However, I think the most free stuff lies with linux (eg: Kino, Lives, Cinelerra, etc) If you’re going to try one of them, I’d recommend either a virtual machine, or a live cd, then maybe an install later.

    You could also try getting a class at a university – most have a few video editing systems available. (mine has Final Cut)

    my 2 cents
    -Robert

  4. Thank you for all of the recommendations. This is helpful for my immediate challenge and for figuring out future options.

    I’m going to take a look at Windows Movie Maker this evening to see if I can solve this relatively simple task. For the long run, I’m giving serious consideration to switching to a Mac when I start my new job in the Fall.

    I also know they have some really nice video editing computer labs at Temple… once I’m there I’ll have access to those. Meanwhile… I’ll muddle through with something.

Leave a Reply

