Attending AMCIS 2007? Where are you staying?

AMCIS 2007 is going to be held in the beautiful Keystone resort area in Colorado. The price tags for hotel rooms, however, are less pretty.

Having read Living on a Graduate Student Budget, I am pretty sure there are lots of smart PhD students out there with creative solutions for attending conferences on a grad student budget. If you are attending AMCIS 2007, have you started making hotel arrangements? If so, could you help me out and share your experience?

I have a few of specific questions:

(1) Have you tried priceline? Is it useful for the resort area? What specific regions do you bid for? How should I be careful about region choices such that I don’t end up having a 2-hour commute to the conference every day?

(2) Have you tried booking rental condos in the area? Any tips for navigating through the hundreds of rentals available, and selecting potential targets?

(3) Have you booked anything? If so, how much do you pay?

And, don’t tell anyone I’m not getting the conference hotel room …… shhhhhhhhhh

12 Responses

  1. I tried hotles.som, there are some offers. Also try orbtiz.com if you are getting a package – flight, hotel and car. I also checked for condo’s they pretty much the same. I recommend you stay in keystone, as it appears to be isolated from bigger cities.

  2. Hi Ravi, thank you so much for sharing these tips! I called some of the condo owners. It appears to me that the major condo areas have free shuttle services to the convention center. They are also only 1-2 miles to the conference site, so should be very convenient.

  3. Cheers Rachel. I will be attending the AMCIS, too, however, the prices are STEEEEP.

    Here goes my question. Would anyone be willing to share a room/a condo with me? I will be arriving from Philly (AOM-OCIS) on Aug 8 and will be staying until Aug 12 afternoon or Aug 13 morning.

    For some work-related stuff see http://www.baloh.net... personal-wise i am open minded and don’t need much in terms of comfort. Please contact me at peter@baloh.net if interested.

  4. Just got a person to share the place with in Keystone, CO, his name is Olivier and he is from Germany… There is a guy Carlos also looing for a roommate and is looking for a good place to stay – if you are looking for one or are interested in sharing a place with him, drop me an email, I will ‘connect you through’ 🙂

  5. I am still thinking if I should join AMCIS. It is because I do not have any paper to be presented in AMCIS . But I would like to join the Job Placement there…..

    Is the room rate very expensive? I haven’t checked.

  6. The rates are crazy. It’s a skiing resort, so … 😦 😦 😦

  7. luckily there are lots of alternatives in the area as summer is low season for ski tourism

  8. Dear all:

    I am also going to the AMCIS and was surprised by how inconvenient to find the way to Keystone and the price of the hotels. 🙂

    So if you are looking for a roommate, please let me know. thanks!

    Heshan

  9. sorry, forgot my email address. hesun@syr.edu. thanks! I am a PhD candidate at Syracuse University.

  10. I am looking for a roommate for AMCIS. I have made a reservation for 2 at the Gateway Mountain Lodge ($119 per night plus tax) for Aug 8 to 12 (checkout Aug 13). So, cost per person will be about $60 per night plus tax. I think it is a nice place to stay and close to the conference place. Besides, it is one of the recommended conference hotels. Please let me know if you are interested in sharing the room with me. E-mail: hbala@walton.uark.edu. thx!

  11. Hello all,
    I will also attend the AMCIS 2007. Yes, I was very shocked about the hotels prices. By the way, I am looking for a female roomate. I have reserved a room in the Inn for four nights begining August 8. If any one interested please respond.

  12. Heshan and the rest, have you found your roomates yet?

Comments are closed.

